Danone

Yogurt in bulk, deliciously committed

Bureau d’innovation
Maker

We built and tested the first machine for storage and bulk distribution of yogurt in store.

The brief

Reinventing Yoghurt Consumption

In October 2018, Danone’s Manifesto Innovation Accelerator (MIA) team approached Possible Future with a brief. The mission? Develop a way to sell yoghurt in bulk and test it in real life.

We jumped at the opportunity to work on another project with Danone, this time to create an inspiring new offering that would allow people to buy yoghurt in the quantities that are convenient for them.  We were also excited about the potential environmental impact of the project: reducing food waste, and reducing the amount of plastic packaging used. Self-serve yoghurt already exists for on-the-go, immediate consumption, but a bulk, self-serve replacement for yoghurt you’d buy at the grocery store was a novel and interesting challenge. We were eager to tackle the unique and complex aspects of distributing a fresh, dairy product in bulk : yoghurt storage and handling, consumer perceptions, and retailer considerations were just a few of the challenges we were faced with as we developed this project with Danone.

From our research, we could see that retailers were looking to compete with online retailers by improving customers’ in-store experiences through offers involving customization, bulk distribution, and environmental/social good. In particular, with the success of the bulk-only grocery chain Day by Day in France and the explosion of bulk offerings in general grocery stores like Auchan, we could see that bulk purchasing had become more than just a curiosity. Narrowing our focus to yoghurt in particular, we found that people wanted to buy in bulk because it allowed them to :

The solution

Crafting a New Experience

These 4 aspirations were at the forefront of our decision-making process as we thought through the design of the solution – we designed and built 2 different iterations of the prototype, with each cycle taking about 3-4 months.

1. Reduce food waste and environmental impact

The carton cups we provide are recyclable, but in order to go even further, our machine is also compatible with a large range of reusable containers! Our system also reduces the amount of yoghurt wasted by allowing people to choose the exact amount of yoghurt they need and by presenting the use-by-date clearly and prominently on the sticker.

2. Experience something fun and new

One of the most important aspects of any product is the user experience, and we wanted to present shoppers with an approachable, fun, and easy-to-use machine. The white, curved panels are inviting and friendly, as opposed to cold and utilitarian. The cups are positioned at a comfortable height. Using the machine is simple and intuitive – simply open the transparent door, place your cup inside, and push the button to start dispensing yoghurt! We added a screen to give people a live estimate of the quantity, and we also added lights that illuminate the inside of the cup to allow the customer to visually see how much yoghurt they’ve dispensed. After dispensing exactly the amount of yoghurt they want, they simply take their cup out and a label is automatically printed and presented to them to stick onto their cup – right now, this label provides key information such as the recommended use-by date and storage temperature, but we imagine that other information such as barcode, price, and weight could also be added to this label in the future. The user takes a lid from our custom lid dispenser, and voila! They are now ready to pay at the counter and enjoy their yoghurt!

3. Choose the perfect quantity

We knew that there would be a wide range of users and use cases, from parents wanting to bring home and store a large quantity for their kids to teenagers wanting to grab a healthy bite to eat on the go. Our machine allows customers to buy the perfect amount of yoghurt for their particular use case by providing different cup options (2 different sizes plus option to bring their own), direct control over the amount of yoghurt, and clear feedback on the quantity by illuminating the inside of the cup and by displaying a live quantitative estimate.

4. Enjoy a fresh and natural product

A fresh and natural product required a refrigeration and storage solution for the bulk yoghurt, so we worked with Danone to repurpose and upcycle one of their existing machines that already had this functionality. Our engineers and industrial designers were excited by the challenge of reusing a machine that already did part of the job and integrating it with the rest of the machine to deliver the experience that they had imagined for the user.

The result

Pilot Test at day by day in Paris 17eme

Testing a product with real people in a real environment is the best way to validate that it meets their needs and to collect feedback for further improvements. We designed and created this second version of the prototype specifically with in-store testing in mind, and while our team was working hard on bringing the physical prototype to life, the MIA team was able to find a perfect partner and product for our 2-week pilot test:

  • day by day,  a special grocery store with over 50 stores across France that sell products only in bulk.
  • Faire Bien, an organic brand of yoghurt with a strong social dimension.

Wednesday, June 19th, 2019, was the first day of the test, and so far, the feedback has been extremely positive! We’ve already surpassed many of our initial sales estimates, and we’ve received a lot of feedback through discussions both in store and online that will help us improve the product going forward (see Danone CEO Emmanuel Faber’s post on LinkedIn). In particular, many people felt strongly about being able to use reusable containers as opposed to the single use carton cups we provided during our test. We would also like to make some design changes to make the user experience more intuitive and to improve the usability of the machine for the store employees.

Overall though, many customers have been happy to see a fresh product offering at day by day, and it’s clear that there is strong demand for a product like this that offers the opportunity to do good for the environment while enjoying a delicious dairy product that gives back to farmers.

What’s next? After reviewing the results of this first test, we hope to test the concept in more stores for a longer period of time!

41

consumer interviews

8

weeks
to build 2 prototypes

2

weeks
pilot at Day by Day

read resume open view ← →

Danone

Le yaourt en vrac, délicieusement engagé

Bureau d'innovation
Maker

Nous avons créé et testé la première machine pour conserver et distribuer du yaourt en vrac en magasin.

Le brief

Réinventer la consommation de yaourt

En octobre 2018, l’équipe Manifesto Innovation Accelerator (MIA) de Danone a contacté les équipes Possible Future. La mission ? Trouver un moyen de vendre du yaourt en vrac, et le tester dans la vraie vie.

Nous avons sauté sur l’occasion de travailler sur un nouveau projet avec Danone, cette fois pour créer une offre innovante qui permettrait aux clients des supermarchés d’acheter exactement la quantité de yaourt nécessaire. Nous étions également emballés par le potentiel impact écologique du projet : réduire le gaspillage alimentaire, ainsi que la quantité de packaging. A l’heure actuelle, le yaourt en libre service existe déjà pour une consommation nomade (consommation à emporter et unitaire). Donc le challenge et la nouveauté du projet résident dans la vente de yaourt en libre service, en vrac, ayant le potentiel de remplacer le yaourt que l’on achète régulièrement au supermarché. Nous avions donc hâte de nous attaquer à toutes les complexités de la distribution en vrac d’un produit laitier frais : le stockage et la manipulation du yaourt, la perception des utilisateurs et les aspirations/freins des distributeurs.

Grâce à nos recherches, nous savions que les distributeurs cherchent à concurrencer le e-commerce en proposant des expérience innovantes en magasin. En particulier ils travaillent sur la personnalisation, le vrac et la diminution de l’impact social et environnemental des produits. Le succès d’enseignes 100% vrac comme Day by Day, l’explosion de l’offre vrac dans des grandes surfaces généralistes comme Auchan nous confirmait que l’achat en vrac n’est pas un épiphénomène mais bien une tendance de fond. En se concentrant sur le yaourt, nous avons identifié que les raisons qui poussaient à l’achat en vrac étaient :

La solution

Créer une nouvelle expérience

Ces 4 aspirations des consommateurs ont été les piliers de la conception de nos prototypes. Notre mission a permis de construire 2 itérations du prototype sur des cycles de 3 à 4 mois pour chaque prototype.

1. Réduire le gaspillage et l’impact environnemental

Les gobelets en carton fournis pour utiliser la machine sont recyclables. Mais pour aller un cran plus loin, notre machine est compatible avec une large palette de contenants réutilisables. Le système réduit également la quantité de yaourt potentiellement gâché, en permettant à chacun d’acheter la quantité exacte de yaourt qu’il souhaite.  Nous avons pris le parti d’afficher de manière très visible la date limite de consommation sur l’étiquette.

2. Une expérience nouvelle et ludique

L’expérience utilisateur a représenté une part importante du projet. Nous voulions proposer aux acheteurs une machine simple à utiliser et ludique et donc une expérience unique. Les panneaux blancs incurvés ont pour but de la rendre conviviale et chaleureuse, plutôt que fonctionnelle et froide. Les gobelets sont positionnés à une hauteur confortable pour tous. Utiliser la machine est simple et intuitif – il suffit d’ouvrir la vitre, de positionner son contenant, et d’appuyer sur un bouton pour que le yaourt soit servi. Nous avons également ajouté un écran qui permet de voir directement la quantité servie, et une ampoule permettant d’éclairer l’intérieur du contenant pour voir convenablement la quantité de yaourt dans le contenant. Une fois le yaourt servi, l’étiquette est imprimée automatiquement afin d’être collée directement sur le contenant. Aujourd’hui, celle-ci donne des informations clés comme la date limite de consommation optimale, et la température de stockage, mais nous pouvons d’ores et déjà imaginer ajouter d’autres informations comme le code barre, le prix et le poids. Il ne reste plus qu’à fermer le gobelet avec un couvercle et voilà !

3. Choisir la quantité exacte

Nous savions qu’il y aurait de nombreux cas d’usages différents et d’utilisateurs variés, des parents souhaitant acheter une grande quantité de yaourt pour leurs enfants, aux adolescents qui souhaiteraient un snack rapide et sain à emporter. Notre machine permet aux clients d’acheter la quantité exacte pour leur usage spécifique, en proposant plusieurs options de contenants (2 tailles de gobelets, et l’option d’apporter son propre contenant).

4. Profiter d’un produit frais et naturel

Un produit frais et naturel nécessite d’être réfrigéré pendant le stockage – nous avons ainsi travaillé avec Danone pour transformer et « upcycler » une machine développée auparavant, qui permettait déjà de stocker un produits frais. Nos ingénieurs et nos designers industriels étaient excités par le challenge de devoir réutiliser une machine existante en l’intégrant dans un système plus global et à une expérience utilisateur toute nouvelle.

Le résultat

Test pilote chez day by day à Paris

Tester un produit dans un environnement réel est la meilleure manière de valider qu’il répond à un vrai besoin, et que ses fonctionnalités sont celles attendues par les utilisateurs. Cela permet aussi d’obtenir des retours utilisateurs pertinents pour continuer à améliorer le produit et l’expérience associée. Nous avons créé et conçu cette deuxième version du prototype spécifiquement pour le tester en magasin. Les équipes de Danone nous ont permis de trouver les partenaire idéaux pour ce test :

  • day by day, une épicerie spécialisée dans la vente en vrac, avec plus de 50 magasins en France.
  • Faire Bien, une marque de yaourt bio avec une forte dimension sociale.

Le test a démarré mercredi 19 juin 2019, et les retours ont été extrêmement positifs. Les objectifs initiaux de vente ont été dépassés largement, et les nombreuses discussions dans le magasin et en ligne nous ont appris énormément de choses qui nous permettront d’améliorer le produit à l’avenir (voir le post du CEO de Danone, Emmanuel Faber, sur LinkedIn). En particulier, la plupart des testeurs sont très attachés à utiliser des contenants réutilisables plutôt que les gobelets en carton fournis. Nous souhaitons également améliorer  l’expérience utilisateur pour la rendre encore plus intuitive et pour faciliter l’aspect opérationnel pour les employés du magasin.

De manière générale, la plupart des clients étaient enchantés de trouver une offre de produit frais chez day by day, et la demande est très claire pour un produit comme celui-ci : un délicieux yaourt, positif pour l’environnement, et respectueux des éleveurs.

Et maintenant ?  Après analyse des résultats de ce premier test, nous espérons tester ce concept plus longtemps et dans un plus grand nombre de magasins !

41

Interviews
consommateurs

8

semaines
pour construire 2 prototypes

2

semaines
test pilote chez day by day